top of page
  • jennyridgway01

Jenny Has A Go At Composition #9

Adjustments after the workshop 4/6/21


Feedback I received in the string quartet workshop was very helpful, QuartEd gave me some insightful points I want to adjust before final submission. These include:

Notation of the portamento I use in the first and last section of the piece

Originally, I had the portamento between two crotchets but I’d rather the pitch change start at the end of a minim.



First attempt at notating













After feedback












It was a good but challenging experience finding the tool to create the brackets and remove the stems on the crotchets.

Another point I adjusted after the workshop was the indication for articulation. On the semiquaver ostinato I used staccato for the lower notes to create a different tone between the two notes. The group indicated the notes without any articulation seemed ambiguous next to staccato notes and I can use staccato and legato to show the differences. Caitlin also suggested using simile so I wouldn’t have to notate the articulation for the whole piece.


Original notation






Adapted notation


Caitlin also mentioned it was important to use very specific dynamic markings and to indicate what marking to start and end crescendos or decrescendos. I didn’t want to go over the top with this feedback and have a dynamic marking before and after every single crescendo or decrescendo in the piece. My aim was to be prescriptive without being over-the-top when using dynamics.

I adjusted the bar before C and put a crotchet rest in the Cello part to allow enough time to transition to pizz. after Karen mentioned that would be technically challenging.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page