top of page
  • jennyridgway01

Canvas as a Teacher and LMS'

Updated: Jun 23, 2021

In week 12 of Technology in Music Education we discussed Learning Management Systems (LMS) and gained experience with using canvas from the educator’s perspective. I have had experience using other LMS such as Google Classroom and Edmodo. I became very familiar with these systems in 2020 as I shifted my ensemble and private tuition work online. I used Edmodo to post music, resources, practice schedules, music-related videos and to have students or patents to contact me with questions. I really enjoyed my experience using Edmodo however found it a lot of maintenance to consistently update information for all the different levels (or classes) I was engaging with. I found canvas for teachers quite difficult to use as some features were difficult to find. I would like to spend more time using this LMS to ensure I can use it effectively and efficiently. Our final discussion focused on understanding the benefits and risks associated with incorporating technology into the music classroom. I believe if an educator is aware of the risks and can mediate these carefully then use of music technology can innovate the classroom.

Week 13- Back On Track (BOT) Week



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

And the semester is at an end...

This semester of Technology in Music Education was both incredibly engaging and challenging. I’ll often find new forms of technology overwhelming to learn with my short attention span and reliance on

EDC Website

Another part of my tech project included creating a website for Ensemble Da Capo. I wanted to make the music videos we created easily accessible. I had to be mindful of copyright so publicising our pr

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page