top of page
  • jennyridgway01

Jenny Has A Go At Composition #2

Brainstorm Activity: 19/5/21

Today I worked on one of my baby-step activities which involves making a collage that will be a reference for inspiration when composing


Ostinato idea:

Based on the ostinato and patterns activity in my baby-steps assignment.

I had been listening to West Side Story soundtrack and I particularly enjoy the piece ‘America’. Bernstein wrote interchanging bars of 6/8 and 3/4. This gives the music a lilting feel. The pulses over every two bars sounded; long, long, short, short, short. I also drew on Stanhope’s use of patterns in Dancing on Clouds to create this ostinato.


Bernstein's America:



Stanhope's Dancing On Clouds:





My Comp:





Initial chords- Phonograh paper


Listening to music from my brainstorm document Other Side of Paradise by Glass Animals and Go With You by BAYNK, I found inspiration for the voices of the introduction. I found the use of space/rests between chordal movement in both songs really engaging to listen to. I wanted to recreate this in my own com. I used the Phonograph paper activity to experiment with two voices and use of rests. The activity was effective in creating ideas about the contour of the two voices and how they would relate to each other. I had difficulty with hearing specific pitches due to my imperfect lines and the scanner picked up other sounds that played in the sections of silence I tried to indicate. Another point to mention when using the phono paper app is to ensure you are holding the device the right was around. I had my phone horizontal on the wrong side and the notes came out at a very high frequency that woke up my dog!






2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page