top of page
  • jennyridgway01

Jenny Has A Go At Composition #3

Key 26/5/21

After the workshop with Caitlin, I had noted that string players favorite key to play in was D major/ B minor. This informed my decision to use B minor for the tonality of my composition.



New found artwork for my collage:

The Divine Hour- Alicia Dunn



Structure

Based on my Baby Steps assignment I highlighted the score for ‘Dancing on Clouds’ using a hard copy as I struggled using highlighting tools when in PDF format over the music. The options for choice of colours were limited on the digital copy which also made it difficult to indicate more that 5 new musical ideas. (Score not provided for copyright purposes)


After highlighting the score I analysed how Stanhope balanced repeated ideas and new material in the piece. The main concepts I wanted to incorporate into my comp from this were;

-Use of ostinato and fragmentation

-Repeating a section of the A theme at the end of the piece

-Slow, fast, slow structure

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page