top of page
  • jennyridgway01

Jenny Has A Go At Composition #5



Transition into the fast section 29/5/21


I found it a challenge to figure out how to transition into a compound time signature at a fast tempo. I wanted to include a held tremolo chord in all parts before the fast section started. Changing from a simple to a compound time signature was also difficult to indicate with a metronome marking that didn’t look ridiculous like quaver= 300! I first experimented with using semiquaver values for the B section but I wanted to keep 3 bar phrases. I settled with indicating the crotchet tempo over the held tremolo note and changing to the 5/8 signature with the same quaver speed.




Theme of the B section 29/5/21

I drew ideas from Gang of Youths ‘Achilles Come Down’ (on brainstorm slides) as I enjoy their use of arpeggiated lines played by the Cello as accompaniment. I used an arpeggiated idea in the Violin I and Viola line and used a harmony line in the Violin II part to thicken the texture. I simplified this idea to use as a bass line in the Cello part. I think this worked very effectively to convey a full-textured dance feel.



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page