top of page
  • jennyridgway01

Personal Learning Networks

I have been looking into Personal Learning Networks with a focus on social media. I have found the networks am involved with are easily accessible via Facebook. I am involved in the group Sydney Band Directors that is a community of music educators and conductors who share ideas, job opportunities, resources and other information on this page. I really enjoy having access to a community like this as often the position as conductor is very isolating and the only opportunity to see others in this field is a professional development days. I believe PLNs are one of the positive uses of social media but as all social media platforms, these can be used irresponsibly as well. One recent example of divisive and anti-social behavior on this specific Facebook page included responses to a post promoting a course targeted at your women in Jazz. An individual comment challenging the need for gender-specific professional development resulted in a storm of agreed or opposing opinions. It was an interesting thread to follow!!



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

And the semester is at an end...

This semester of Technology in Music Education was both incredibly engaging and challenging. I’ll often find new forms of technology overwhelming to learn with my short attention span and reliance on

EDC Website

Another part of my tech project included creating a website for Ensemble Da Capo. I wanted to make the music videos we created easily accessible. I had to be mindful of copyright so publicising our pr

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page